How to spend it # 1

Don’t Confuse Investments with Costs or Waste

Managing the shortage of money and time in a startup

Uwe Weinreich
9 min readApr 13, 2023

--

Photo by Alen Rojnic on Unsplash

How can a person who is unwilling to start a business and afraid of the risk become a fairly successful serial entrepreneur? It’s not impossible, and it’s my story — a learning journey. This is the first article in a series in which I will share my experiences. I hope it will help at least some of you spend your time and money more wisely than I sometimes did.

In 1991, I founded my first company. I wasn’t eager to do it. Since there was a significant lack of job opportunities at the time, I was more forced than inspired. My ignorance of how to run a business was correspondingly high. Today, six startups and three decades later, I’ve accumulated a fortune in strategies, tactics, and skills as a solopreneur and business founder. Some of this knowledge, unfortunately, I have acquired through bad decisions and other failures. Another part, and I am deeply grateful for this, came from mentors who were experienced entrepreneurs and high-level managers.

Now it’s time to share what can help others, and I will be open about my failures. You will not read the heroic story of an entrepreneur, but rather the daily struggles that every founder and solopreneur must face.

--

--

Uwe Weinreich

Uwe works as coach, author and consultant focusing on agile innovation and digital transformation. What he does is simple: he solves problems.